Integrity


image

I was talking to a fellow student last night before class and he said something profound to me. He was talking about how his two daughters were emulating him by “studying”  when when daddy studies. The profound part was the were 4&2!  They would grab their books when he had to study and sit on his office floor and read and color. The two year old would mumble as though she was reading too. What an incredible example he was setting for his children and he didn’t even know it. 🙂

This doesn’t have to pertain to young children only. I have spoken to so many older adults who have returned to school to be an example to their older children that it’s never too late. They talk about the pride they feel when their grown children say “I can’t do this,” and they now have the ability to say “look at me, sure you can.”

Some feel they disappointed their children because they waited so long and  didn’t make education an important aspect of life. Now they can look in the mirror and say they did it.

I’m one of those people too. I was so busy raising a family and trying to survive day to day that I didn’t place importance where it needed to be. I taught my children how to survive but not how to use education to live. Now I have. When people look at me from my past they now see a successful person with integrity. My children can be proud of me. My son talks about how he felt at my graduation and the  pride was overwhelming. “My moms a college graduate!”

It’s never to late. Whether they’re babies or adults they look up to you. Make them and yourself PROUD! 🙂

Leave a Reply

