Are you willing to get your hands dirty? YOUR FUTURE IS IN YOUR HANDS!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a continuation of yesterday’s blog about working hard to get your degree. This picture reminds me of the times my printer blew up right when a final paper was due and I had only hours to submit it. I remember the stress that caused me. Also the time when my laptop crashed during an exam (which you can only enter once). I was petrified but I did what I had to do. I had to borrow a friend computer which did not have any of the programs I needed but she allowed me to install whatever I needed. I had to contact my advisor and prove what happened and they allowed me to start the exam over.

Going to college means getting your hands dirty, not in the literal sense. All of the writing and typing and correcting that you have to do. Your hands will hurt at times, your brain will hurt as well. Your back will act up and you will lose sleep. That is all about “CREATING”  a future for yourself. It is like molding clay. Each year you complete is another part of the mold  until your piece is finished. Yep FINISHED! Whoo Hoo!

Anything worthwhile is not easy. I cannot count the times I wanted to just stop. Pulling my hair out and feeling incredibly overwhelmed. I would stomp around the house, cuss and scream. It seemed like college was never going to end. Then my husband would say to me, “this isn’t high school and the further you go the harder it is going to be.” I would give him the evil eye because I knew he was right.  I would take my little temper tantrum, and then pull myself together. It’s ok to have a meltdown here and there. It actually refreshes you.

When it seems too much, take a breather, go for a walk, listen to music or just take a nap. You will get it all done because you desire to be somebody and be successful. You want to be a “WINNER!”

I am saying this to you for myself as well. I am starting my Master’s program and from what everyone tells me it is a bear. That’s ok, I love the challenge. So whatever level you are at with your degree, say what I say to myself all of the time “This time next year I will have my Associates or my Bachelors, or Master’s degree.” You will be one year further. A year goes by incredibly fast.

Don’t cut yourself short. You started school for a reason. Now allow yourself to get your hands dirty and go through the trials and tribulations. It does not last forever.  If you have a good attitude, you will enjoy your journey instead of dreading it.

Continued success to all of you!  I will be happy to mentor anyone who needs a little boost. You can reach me by email: kgerber4230@yahoo.com or Facebook : Kathie Gerber. I would love to share your journey with you.

PEACE 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

