Be Yourself ~ THE HAPPIER YOU WILL BE!


In our lives most of us have spent it trying to be “like” someone else, or trying to “please” other people. We lost the concept of “self.”  I know that in reality I have never been happy with myself because I felt I didn’t meet up to the standards of everyone else, or the people who I respected. All the years I have wasted trying to fill the shoes that weren’t my size. I would get frustrated, angry and disappointed in me. I didn’t understand why until I realized that I was not being true to “me.” What does that mean?

Once I realized that I wasn’t truly happy doing things the way I was, I took inventory of why. That is when I made the decision to go back to school and pursue my dreams. My children were grown and I no longer had to base my life around their schedules. I now had a schedule that was mine and I could do with it what I wanted. I realized how much I missed being important. Not as a mother or wife, but as an employee. I wanted to be needed and respected by my peers. Going back to college has given me that again.

Working my butt off in school and carrying a 3.8 GPA brings respect from my classmates, Professors and the Dean. Why? Because it demonstrates hard work and determination. It proves that I am worth it and willing to work hard. I earned it, I worked for it. I put in the incredibly long hours for it and NO ONE can take it away from me or take credit for it. The pride going back to college has instilled in me is priceless.

I am 52 years old today and I feel more respected now than I did in my 30’s and 40’s. The reason for that is I found my “self.” You can do the same. The past doesn’t define you. What you do from this day forward does. When school gets tough and you want to give up, remember that losers quit and you are NOT a loser. Strayer University‘s motto holds true: “Only the Driven.” It’s obvious you were driven when you decided to go back to college in the first place. Don’t let a couple stumbling blocks get in your way. They are only momentary and won’t last forever.

I am struggling in my statistics class and it is very hard for me, but I am pushing forward. A group of us created a study group as well as a conference call each week. We found that one person may be strong in a specific area and someone else in another. We are getting through this class with an A so far. We keep saying to each other we only have a couple more weeks and it will be a memory. You need to think the same way. DON’T GIVE UP! YOU ARE TOO CLOSE!

As Dr. Sizer told us, keep the word “GRADUATION” in your mind, it will help you stay focused and it does.

Take time to take inventory and give yourself permission for find your “self” and be true to that. You will be much happier and even more successful!! 🙂

Enjoy this beautiful day God Gave you.

Peace

Leave a Reply

