Some Days I Just Need a ~ HUG!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This week has been a bit trifling. Midterm week, work was just nuts, forget my Bff’s birthday, two friends of our family died. One a 22-year-old young man who succumbed to brain cancer. Tragic at such a young age. The other, a prominent attorney who was an amazing man who brought so much to our communities. Both will be sorely missed.

I woke up feeling a little grumpy and frustrated. I am normally a very balanced person who keeps her life scheduled and in order. The last two weeks I have forgotten what that is all about. To forget your best friends birthday! Well, that just tells me that I need to calm down and meditate. Waiting for grades to post is also STRESSFUL! My brain won’t shut up. “I wonder how I did, I wonder how I did, I wonder how I did?’ Over and over again. I keep checking blackboard like every ten minutes to see if anything has posted yet.  It’s time for me to PRACTICE WHAT I PREACH!

The grades are what they are now. I can’t change the outcome now. The week is over, that also cannot be changed. What CAN be changed is ME. Getting all out of sorts is not going to help anything or anyone. Being happy and at peace affects me and everyone around me. So, that is what I need to do. MEDITATE. BREATHE. Go to my happy place and stay there for about 15 minutes. ALLOW yourself to do the same.

Being an older adult going to colleges has its challenges, but it also has its benefits. I’m a lot more mature than I was when I was 18 years old and going to college. Back then, it was PARTY TIME. Now it’s more like “You’re paying for this, make the best of it.” 

 There have been many ups and owns over the past four years but it’s all coming down to this: This week was my LAST midterm I have to take for my Bachelor’s Degree. My LAST ONE!  In five more weeks, I will have earned my Bachelor’s and preparing to start my Master’s program. Here, allow me to say that again, MY LAST MIDTERM for my undergraduate degree! Wow, that sparked something in me!

You need to look at it in a positive light. Whether it be the first midterm of your college career or the last. It is all milestones. I remember the first midterms I took and being so excited when the grades came back that I called everybody that I could think of. Now that it is my last, I STILL DO THAT! Every step in getting your degree is an ACCOMPLISHMENT! Some are baby steps while others were like climbing Mt. Everest!  Sometimes we just need a HUG

If you need a HUG today, here’s one from me ( H  U  G ! ! ! )

Whatever milestone you are at today, TREASURE IT! EMBRACE IT! REJOICE IN IT!

That is exactly what I needed –  A REMINDER. Now I can proceed with getting life back on track and not beat myself up over a couple of hiccups this week. Look yourself in the mirror and take a good hard look. If you did the best you could do~ move on. If you were like me and did the best you could but stumbled a little~ be ok with that. Oh  LOOK- WE ARE HUMAN!~ Change what you need to change and leave the rest behind.

NOW, LET’S GET READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL!!!!!!!!!!!! SUPERBOWL SUNDAY!!!!  🙂 🙂

Enjoy this BEAUTIFUL day God gave you! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Some Days I Just Need a ~ HUG!

Leave a Reply

