Mood Swings During Midterms – NOT ME!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I read this I had to laugh because my husband and friends tell me all the time that when midterms and finals are here, I change into the grouchy Kathie. Nah, not me. No way. You’re just messing with me. Well, I have to admit, Yep, Yes, Yea Way and no they are not just messing with me.  It is like the Jeckle/Hyde Syndrome. I become grouchy, stressed and just a plain pain in the you know what!

I hate exams, my anxiety skyrockets and it is like I go through a complete metamorphosis. It took me a long time to realize that I was actually doing that. Midterms and Finals to me are the definition of my intelligence. Did I grasp the information? Was I really paying attention? It is almost like they “define” me. WHAT?!  Wait a minute! Define me?

I am such a Type A personality that I need to be perfect, have the best grades and so on. HOWEVER, I have to remember that the midterm and the final are only a PART of my grade! Duh! Hello!  I need to remind myself too that as long as I am doing my work to the best of my ability during the whole quarter and I am getting A’s on everything else, I can afford to lose a couple of points on the midterm/final. I have to remember to cut myself some slack too. I am such a good student. I do all my assignments and usually score A’s on the quizzes. So why do I do this to myself and my family?

Tonight is my final midterm and for the first time in four years I have accepted that I am doing great in the class and that I will do my best on my midterm and that’s that. Normally I have a headache, my neck is stiff, my back hurts and I am just plain miserable. Sound familiar? Sounds crazy huh? As older adults in college we have this fear of not being good enough or not as smart as the younger people in class because we have been out of school so long. That is one of the reasons I chose a University like Strayer. The majority of students are my age and I don’t feel like the old fart. Everyone is struggling with the same issues as I am; work, family, school and so on.

If you are honestly doing the best that you can and you are not slacking off or making excuses, CUT YOURSELF A BREAK. It is only (1) quarter of your entire college career and maybe this particular class is not your best subject, that certainly does not mean you are a failure. If your family/friends tell you that your mood swings are out of control, listen to them and take heed. If you are stressed that much you are not going to do well on the exam anyway.

You ARE going to survive this exam, really you are. If you do not do well, that’s ok. Talk to your Professor or Advisor and look into tutoring programs available through your College/University. Talk with fellow classmates about study groups where you can help one another out. Support each other. I have yet to meet a Professor who was not willing to help me or tutor me when I needed it. I also Skype with classmates when it is too difficult for everyone to meet at the same place. Sometimes you just need to get creative. Most Universities offer workshops on Math or Study Skills, English and so on. Make use of them. It is amazing what you will learn. The Internet also holds many options such as podcasts of different classes free of charge. Investigate, ask questions.

ENJOY THIS INCREDIBLE JOURNEY! You will make it! 🙂 Don’t let one class, one grade define who you are. Cut yourself some slack.  Good Luck if you are still taking your midterms. If you are done, take a deep breath and smell the fresh air. You made it through it. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

