College makes you – COME ALIVE!


Think about those words. When we do things that are good for us and others, we literally COME ALIVE. Reflect for a moment on the day you were accepted to college, can you remember the feelings? Yes, some of them were fear, but honestly, there was a great deal of excitement. How man times did you day “I’m a college student!” I know I did hundreds of times. I still do, even after (4) years and two degrees. It is just even more incredible to say “I’m a college graduate!”

COME ALIVE. allow yourself to be fulfilled. I can hear you now “It’s hard to come alive with all this studying, exams, work and family.” REALLY????? Why would you deny yourself the good stuff? No matter what, you are doing what others refuse to do. You are bettering yourself. Improving you and your family’s future. Giving yourself more opportunities.  Stop the self-pity. Stop trying ti pour yourself another glass of failure. Look at all of this as the GLASS HALF FULL instead of the GLASS HALF EMPTY!

As we get older we start to realize our mortality and we realize it is time to make a move. Before you know it the four years will be over and you will have that PRECIOUS DEGREE!  I cannot reiterate enough that feeling you are going to experience. I remember Strayer’s President Dr. Stollards’ words at the end of commencement when she said, “TURN YOUR TASSLES AS YOU ARE NOW A GRADUATE OF STRAYER UNIVERSITY!”  I still get the goose bumps when I think about those words or hear the words “Kathleen Gerber, Bachelor’s of Science, Magna Cum Laude.” You can feel those goose bumps too. Instead of thinking “Oh I wish I would have.” There’s no room here for woulda, coulda, shoulda.

Create your bucket list for life and GO FOR IT! You only live once. Last year, I allowed myself to experience something I have wanted to do my whole life. Skydive. I went with my son and a great friend. Oh yes, I was petrified until the plane was actually flying towards our destination of 13,500 ft. I had a sense of calm because I had made the decision and did not wimp out. IT WAS INCREDIBLE! I loved every single second of it and now I am addicted. The point I am trying to make here is you do not know what you are missing out on if you only allow things to be a dream or a fantasy or wishful thinking.  For me, I don’t want to die with regrets. I don’t want to die with “if only.”

Pump yourself up! Be positive! Yell and Scream like a cheerleader would!

Don’t allow yourself to get stuck in a rut or complacent. This is it! 🙂 🙂 🙂

HAVE FUN!

One thought on “College makes you – COME ALIVE!

Leave a Reply

