Law of Attraction – Sounds Weird but IT’S TRUE!


Hmmmm when I read this years ago I thought it was just another one of those fly by night schemes but the more I read about it, the more I can to believe in it. The more I practiced it, the more I saw the results. When I don’t practice it, I also see the results of that.

When I first made the decision to return to school was actually years before I walked through the doors of Strayer University. I have thought about it time and again. The problem was I couldn’t visualize it in my head. I couldn’t see me walking across the stage of graduation, or wearing a cap and gown or holding that diploma in my hands. It took almost 15 years before I was able to see any of that. I spoke often of going back to school and I made excuse after excuse I could find; we can’t afford it, the children need me, my husband needs me, work needs me, my friends need me blah blah blah.

Then 5 years ago I heard about this philosophy and decided to check it out.  I started to put it in practice. I started to change the way I was thinking. I started to cut out pictures of what car I wanted, what kind of home I wanted, and yes, even what kind of job I wanted. I cut out pictures of college graduates with their caps and gowns and wrote at the top “This is going to be ME!”

Now I must be honest and say I didn’t see changes right away because I often slipped back into my old thinking habits. It is really difficult to learn to control your thoughts. Whew, it was quite exhausting for a long time. Finally about 6 months later things were beginning to change slowly. First was my attitude. I was not longer the walking billboard of negativity. The words ” I CAN”  became a daily part of my vocabulary. “I CAN”T” started to become much less a part of my vocabulary.  Just changing from I can’t to I can was amazing. I felt different about myself. People said I carried myself differently (I didn’t notice at first). My head was held higher instead of always looking at the ground. It felt great not feeling doom and gloom everyday.

As the I can’s started increasing is when the final decision to go to college became a reality. I was more self-confident and my determination had grown ten fold. One day I was out running errands when I drove past Strayer University and my car suddenly had a mind of its own. I pulled into the parking lot and the next thing I knew I was standing in the front office of the Virginia Beach Campus. I can promise that I had the “deer in the headlights” look and I was really scared. A very pleasant young lady approached me and asked what I wanted and I remember answering her saying “I think I want to go back to school, but I’m not sure if it is for me.”  I also remember reverting to the insecure Kathie and I out my head to the ground like I wasn’t deserving.  The young lady invited me to her office to discuss my interests. I informed her that I haven’t seen the inside of a classroom for almost (30)  years and this was an insane idea. That is when she explained that more adults are returning to college than ever before. I was reassured that I would not be the “old lady” in class and all I had to do was take it one-quarter at a time. She suggested that I start with (2) classes to get acclimated and take it from there.

I completed the application process, and financial aid process and I waited to be rejected. Yep, that’s what I said. Waited to be rejected. The phone would ring and I would see Strayer’s number come up on my caller ID and I wouldn’t answer it. I let it go to voicemail because I didn’t want to hear that I wasn’t accepted, or that my financial aid application had been denied or there was some kind of problem. Funny thing, it never happened. I was ACCEPTED, my financial aid was APPROVED, my classes were SCHEDULED and I was to begin in 3 WEEKS! There was no turning back now! WOW, I’M A COLLEGE STUDENT! 🙂

The law of attraction works for me. It has changed my entire life. I pictured both of my graduations (I picture my Master’s and JD degrees too). I picture myself having high honors, not just getting by in college. I picture teaching other students one day. I picture traveling the country speaking at colleges about my journey and I picture me writing a book soon.  I know it sound weird, and I agree, but the Bible speaks about it, Motivational Speakers talk about it, Minsters Talk about it, so there must be something to it all.

Allow yourself to be open to the experience. To change your thinking. To become more confident. To get that College Degree. To get the job of your dreams. FOCUS. FOCUS. FOCUS!  When you don’t want to focus or you’re feeling down or overwhelmed – FOCUS ANYWAY! It is hard I agree, but it is worth every teenie tiny step, every frustration, every long night of studying.

VISUALIZE IT. SPEAK IT. SEE IT. WELCOME IT.  “I’M A COLLEGE GRADUATE!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

