While going to college – DON’T FORGET TO MAKE MEMORIES!!


This is advice that I also need to take. I have to remind myself of this. When we are working adults going to college we find it hard to take time to do anything fun or exciting. Afterall, we have a paper to write, homework to do, a quiz to take, dinner to make, laundry to do, work from the office and on and on and on……

I had won a scholarship my second year and it was huge, $5,000. It was presented to me by Elizabeth Edwards from the Possible Women’s Foundation. Ms. Edwards was fighting a losing battle against cancer. The topic she spoke about was how important it was for women to be strong and happy. I watched her and listened to her intently and all I could think about was how important making memories truly are. Here was this highly successful powerful woman and she was dying of cancer. What was her legacy? Did she make enough memories for her family to cherish? I know it sounds weird but that was the thoughts I was having. In front of me stood a woman for whom I had incredible respect for and wanted to be like. She was the lawyer and author and teacher.

College is crucial to changing your life, but in the process do not forget to make memories that you can look back on and smile. Remember to take that picture with your children, grandchildren, spouse, friends and so on. It only takes 5 seconds to take a picture.; an hour to go to dinner or lunch. How about sitting at the table with your family/spouse and discussing the days events? Now I’m not saying you have to do that everyday as that it unreasonable, just find the time, even if it is once a month.

I have been asked many times if it is important to walk graduation for an Associate degree. YES ! YES!  YES!  I asked that question when it was my time. I thought, “It’s only an Associate Degree.”  It’s NOT just an Associate Degree – It’s SUCCESS!  It is two years of hard work and sacrificing. sleepless nights, stress and anxiety. YOU EARNED THAT DEGREE! 🙂 I am so glad that I did, (I created a GREAT memory).  Walking across that stage gave me the energy and strength and desire to continue on with my degree. It was AWESOME! Then the following year, I got the pleasure to walk across that stage again for my Bachelor’s Degree! (Another Awesome Memory!)

Walk every graduation, enjoy every award, adorn yourself with your honor medallions. SHOW IT ALL OFF! (MEMORY 🙂 )

Memories are crucial to our legacy. Imagine your great- great- granchildren seeing a picture of your graduation – it may motivate them to do the same. Memories are also important for us as we age. They remind us of our accomplishments and fun times. They make us SMILE! 🙂

What memory are you going to make today?

Leave a Reply

